Admin

After-School Clubs

After-School Clubs
Posted on 10/23/2019
Clubs and Organizations

After School Clubs - 2019-2020

Our Activity Bus runs Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday and leaves SRMS at 4:20 PM, dropping off at the local feeder elementary schools. Some clubs may have membership requirements, all clubs run right after school until 4:15 (unless otherwise specified) please e-mail the sponsor for details.

• Afternoon Intramurals, Mr. Weiss, cweiss@bcps.org , Tuesdays and Wednesday, permission slips and sign up located outside room 107 

• Art Club, Mr. Olmo, rolmo@bcps.org, Thursday, room 105

• Black Saga, Mr. Nezworski, knezworski@bcps.org, Thursday, room 103. Participants will compete in African-American History trivia competitions.  

• Celtic Ensemble, Mrs. Bennett, lbennett2@bcps.org, Tuesday, band room

• Chess Club, Mr. Weiss, cweiss@bcps.org , Thursdays, room 107 

• Computer Club, Ms. Chapman, dchapman@bcps.org, Thursday, room 201A

• Dungeons and Dragons Club, Ms. Ludlow jludlow@bcps.org and Ms. Latham tlatham2@bcps.org, meets the first Wednesday of each month, room 124

• Educators Rising (Future Educators of America) Ms. Conroy aconroy@bcps.org, Wednesday, room 220.   FEA is a group for all students who are thinking about or interested in becoming teachers or other members of a school community!  In this club we will learn what it’s like to be a teacher, learn skills that make great teachers (and people) and get to meet people with similar interest. 

• Environmental Club/ Green STEM, Ms. Gottschalk  sgottschalk@bcps.org, Wednesday, room 104

• Future Business Leaders of America, Ms. Chapman, dchapman@bcps.org, Thursday, room 201A   www.fbla.org ; http://www.mdfbla.org/

• Glee and Dance Club, Mr. Arment, garment@bcps.org, Wednesday, chorus room

• GSA, Gay Straight Alliance, Ms. Latham, tlatham2@bcps.org, 1-2 Wednesdays per month, Room 128

• Homework Club, Special Ed Dept., cschneider2@bcps.org , Thursday, student must have an Individual Education Plan, please contact the sponsor for more information

• Jazz Band, Ms. Bennett, lbennett2@bcps.org, Thursday, band room

• Math 24/Math Games Club, Mr. Myers dmyers@bcps.org, Thursday, Room 223. In this club, we will sharpen our math skills by playing a variety of math games, like Math 24.    

• MESA (Math Engineering Science Achievement), Ms. Gottschalk, sgottschalk@bcps.org, Thursday, room 104. MESA has an application process which closes in October.  

• Multicultural Club, Ms. Cordon, mcordon@bcps.org, The purpose of this club is to meet other students with diverse backgrounds, celebrate different languages and cultures, and share your story in a safe and inclusive environment! The Club is open to any student who wants to join, grades 6-8. The only requirement is that everyone shows respect in all forms, spoken and nonspoken, in-person and online. We meet in room 117.  In October we will meet on Tuesday Oct. 22nd, and then bi-weekly on Wednesdays after October.  Permission slips are in room 117 in both English and Spanish.  Contact Ms. Cordon for details! 

• Musical Theatre, Ms. Gauthier rgauthier@bcps.org , Auditions November/December, shows TBA in April. Rehearsals will extend beyond the activity bus hours.  Please contact Ms. Gauthier for information.

• Newspaper Club, Mr. Huber/Mr. Nezworski, jhuber3@bcps.org knezworski@bcps.org, TBA, room 222 Contact sponsor if you are interested.

• NJHSA/National Honors Society, Ms. Anderson, sanderson2@bcps.org, Students need to qualify and apply in order to be accepted into the National Junior Honors Society.  Meetings will be announced to students who are inducted into the honor society.  

• Quiz Bowl, Mr. Nezworski, knezworski@bcps.org, Tuesday, room 103.  Participants will compete against other schools in current events trivia competitions.  

• Robotics, Mr. Stanley, rstanley2@bcps.org, Thursday, room 118.  Do you like to build things? Like to solve problems?  In the robotics club, students can build and modify robots in a team building atmosphere. The students’ robots will compete in local robotics competitions, so there are a few Saturday commitments.  

• Steel Band, Mr. Adams, jadams@bcps.org, Usually Wednesdays, auditions took place in September.  There may be openings in January.  Contact Mr. Adams with questions. Room 101

• Student Government - SGA, Mrs. Alleman & Ms. Boyd, kalleman@bcps.org nboyd2@bcps.org, Tuesday, Permission slip & teacher recommendation form required, club enrollment closes 11/1, room 121

• Mentoring Groups – If interested in mentoring programs please contact our mentor coordinator, Mr. Adams jadams@bcps.org.

o Young Men with Purpose, Mr. Goodrich, kgoodrich@bcps.org, This is a mentoring group for young men, please contact the sponsor for more information. Wednesday, room 210

o 6th Grade Boys Mentoring Group, Mr. Adams jadams@bcps.org and Mr. CarpenterGonia pcarpentergonia@bcps.org. This group meets twice a month, please contact the sponsor for information.

o 8th Grade Girls Mentoring Group, Ms. Crowe mcrowe2@bcps.org and Ms. Zinsavage hfoos@bcps.org. This group meets twice a month please contact the sponsor for information.